Patrons & Supporters


Our Patron-in-Chief is David Cairns, the leading authority in the world on Berlioz.

Others who have joined us so far include:

    • Dame Janet Baker CH, one of the greatest-ever singers of Berlioz’s female roles;
    • Dame Sarah Connolly DBE, renowned British mezzo soprano
    • Michael Berkeley (Lord Berkeley of Knighton) CBE, composer and broadcaster;
    • Suzi Digby (Lady Eatwell) OBE, choral conductor and evangelist for music education and children’s singing;
    • Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE, peerless double bassist and founder of the Chineke! orchestra.

We also have several distinguished conductors:

    • Nicholas Collon
    • Sir Mark Elder CH CBE
    • Sir John Eliot Gardiner CBE
    • Edward Gardner OBE
    • John Nelson
    • Sir Roger Norrington CBE
    • Sir Antonio Pappano
    • Sir Simon Rattle OM CBE
    • François-Xavier Roth
    • Robin Ticciati


Berlioz 150 is grateful for the financial support we have received from:

    • Lord Aberdare DL
    • The Adrian Swire Charitable Trust
    • Dame Mary Archer DBE
    • The Ashley Family Foundation
    • The Berlioz Society
    • Michael Beverley
    • Bristol Plays Music
    • Professor Mischa Dohler
    • Richard Foulkes
    • Henri Moerel Foundation
    • Dr Gareth Jones
    • Brian Kingham
    • Tony Matharu
    • Adam & Nelly Munthe
    • The New Berlioz Edition Trust
    • Humphrey Norrington OBE
    • Professor Richard Portes CBE
    • R & I Pilkington Charitable Trust
    • Sir Adam Ridley
    • Alison Russell
    • The Sickle Foundation
    • Nicholas Snowman OBE
    • Arnout & Jantiene Van der Veer
    • Victoria & Albert Museum

and other donors who prefer to remain anonymous

Honorary Advisory Committee (HAC)

Berlioz 150 would like to recognise the support provided by the members of our Honorary Advisory Committee:

    • Mrs Juliet Abrahamson
    • Dame Mary Archer
    • Mrs Rosamund Bernays
    • Mr James Cator
    • Professor Mischa Dohler
    • Mr Andrey Kidel
    • Mr Tony Matharu
    • Mme Claudine Ripert
    • Ms Alison Russell
    • Mrs Lindsay Stainton
    • Ms Charlotte Valeur
    • Mr Michael Wade